The host city for MLS Cup presented by Audi (held Dec. 9) gets determined Saturday when Supporters’ Shield champions FC Cincinnati host Hell is Real rival Columbus Crew for the Eastern Conference Final (6 pm ET | MLS Season Pass).

Why is MLS Cup 2023 going to Cincy’s TQL Stadium or Columbus’ Field? MLS Cup hosting rights are dictated by where teams slot in the regular-season standings, and every Western Conference finalist finished below their Eastern Conference counterparts.

MLS Cup 2023 hosting priority order




1. FC Cincinnati

TQL Stadium

East 1

2. Columbus Crew Field

East 3

As has been the case since 2012, the finalist with the highest regular-season point total hosts MLS Cup. If both finalists have the same amount of regular-season points, the team with more wins – or, if they’re tied in that category, better goal difference – will host MLS Cup.

In the chase for the Philip F. Anschutz Trophy, there are nine teams each across the Eastern Conference and Western Conference (18 teams total). LAFC are defending MLS Cup champions.

More News